Anne Dunn Award 2017 – Winner announced

The 2017 Anne Dunn Scholar award for excellence in research about communication or journalism has been awarded to Professor Geoffrey Craig, head of research in the School of Communication Studies at Auckland University of Technology in New Zealand.

Read more ...

2017 Conference

The Department of Media and Communication (MECO) at the University of Sydney is proud to hold the annual conference of ANZCA and to welcome you to the city of Sydney.
ANZCA 2017 will take place between 4 and 7 July 2017.
This year’s theme is “Communication Worlds: Access, Voice, Diversity, Engagement”, aimed at attracting stimulating and engaged scholarly debate from a broad range of scholars associated with the association.

Click here to go to the conference website.


2016–17 Executive

The new executive was elected at the 2016 AGM in Newcastle. Click here for the names and e-mail addresses of the new executive.

2016 Conference Awards

The following awards were made at the 2016 annual conference in Newcastle, NSW.

Ramaswami Harindranath won the Christopher Newell Prize for best paper dealing with equity, diversity and social justice.
Jessamy Gleeson won the Grant Noble Prize for best student paper.
Pita Shelford won the People’s Choice for the best presentation.
Janet Fulton won the President’s Service Award.

ANZCA members and executive would like to congratulate the successful winners.

Emma A Jane wins Anne Dunn Scholar Award for 2016

The 2016 Anne Dunn Scholar award for excellence in research about communication or journalism has been awarded to Emma A Jane, senior lecturer at the University of New South Wales. Warm congratulations, Emma, from the Journalism Education and Research Association of Australia and the Australian and New Zealand Communication Association.

Read more ...

ICA Conference in Fukuoka, Japan, 9–13 June, 2016

The 66th International Communication Association conference will be held in Fukuoka, Japan, from 9th to 13th June, 2016. Its theme is “Communicating with Power”.

Read more ...

Mia Lindgren wins 2015 Anne Dunn prize

The Australian and New Zealand Communication Association (ANZCA) and the Journalism Education and Research Association of Australia (JERAA) are delighted to announce that this year’s winner of the Anne Dunn scholar of the year is Associate Professor Mia Lindgren, of Monash University.

Read more ...

Notice of 2015 AGM

The 2015 Annual General Meeting of the Australia and New Zealand Communication Association Incorporated will be held in the Queenstown Room, Rydges Hotel, Thursday 9th July 2015 from 4:15pm to 5:45pm.

Click here to see the draft agenda and download the reports.

New ANZCA Journal

Communication Research and Practice (or CRP as it will also be known) is a new journal published for ANZCA by Taylor & Francis, and marks a new stage in the evolution of communication research and publishing in Australia, New Zealand, and internationally.

Read more ...

Anne Dunn Scholar of the Year Award

The award is in memory of a remarkable broadcaster, journalism educator and media scholar. Anne was known for her efforts to build bridges, whether between industry and the academy or across academic disciplines, for her mentoring of younger women making the adjustment from working in news media to academia and for her life-long commitment to public sector broadcasting.