Anne Dunn Scholar of the Year Award 2015

To commemorate the life and work of a much valued and sorely missed colleague – Professor Anne Dunn – the Journalism Education and Research Association of Australia (JERAA), the Australian and New Zealand Communication Association (ANZCA), and members of Anne Dunn’s family decided to offer an annual award worth $3,000 for an Anne Dunn scholar of the year. This award recognises excellence in research about the fields of communications or journalism, including but not limited to broadcast media for the public benefit.

The award is in memory of a remarkable broadcaster, journalism educator and media scholar. Anne was known for her efforts to build bridges, whether between industry and the academy or across academic disciplines, for her mentoring of younger women making the adjustment from working in news media to academia and for her life-long commitment to public sector broadcasting.
The deadline for this year’s Anne Dunn Scholar of the Year Award will be 16 March 2015.  Judging will be done by two members of the JERAA executive and two members of the ANZCA executive and will be finalised by April 2015. The announcement of the winner in April will allow time for them to use the prize to attend either or both of the annual ANZCA and JERAA conferences should they wish to do so. The award will run for five years initially and will be reviewed after that time.
Who can apply?
The award is open to all scholars working in the journalism and communication studies fields in Australia. Applicants must be able to refer to a body of their own research work in journalism or communication. As a journalist Anne Dunn worked primarily in broadcast media and so entries from scholars researching broadcast media are welcome but so too are applications from scholars of any part of the journalism and communications field. Entries will be judged on the merit of the body of work that is submitted. The award explicitly aims to honour Anne Dunn’s commitment to critical research of high academic standard.
Application guidelines
To apply to be the 2015 Anne Dunn scholar of the year, you will submit an application via email to the current president of the JERAA, Professor Matthew Ricketson, at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., and the current president of ANZCA, Dr Diana Bossio, at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by 16 March 2015. You need to put the words “Anne Dunn scholar award” in the subject line of your email. Your application will include the following details; please adhere to the word limits.
Contact postal address:
Description of body of research about journalism, Communication and/or broadcast media for the public benefit: (two pages maximum).
Demonstration of the impact of the body of research: (one page maximum).
Statement about how the chosen body of research commemorates the aims and spirit of Anne Dunn’s scholarly work: (half a page maximum).