Anne Dunn Award 2017 – Winner announced

The 2017 Anne Dunn Scholar award for excellence in research about communication or journalism has been awarded to Professor Geoffrey Craig, head of research in the School of Communication Studies at Auckland University of Technology in New Zealand.

From the Journalism Education and Research Association of Australia (JERAA) and the Australian and New Zealand Communication Association (ANZCA), our warmest congratulations Geoff.

For the first time since the award’s inception, the judges opted to highly commend the work of an applicant – Dr Stephen Harrington, senior lecturer in the School of Communication at Queensland University of Technology.

The Anne Dunn Scholar Award was set up in 2014 to commemorate the life and work of a much valued and sorely missed colleague – Professor Anne Dunn. Members of Anne Dunn’s family and the two associations decided to offer an annual award worth $3,000. It recognises excellence in research about the fields of communications or journalism, including but not limited to broadcast media for the public benefit.

The award is in memory of a remarkable broadcaster, journalism educator and media scholar. Anne was known for her efforts to build bridges, whether between industry and the academy or across academic disciplines, for her mentoring of younger women making the adjustment from working in news media to academia and for her life-long commitment to public sector broadcasting.

ANZCA president Phillip McIntyre said Geoffrey Craig had produced an impressive body of research. “Geoff Craig’s research analyses major institutions of public communication and he uses theory well. He has helped shape his corner of the field in the region. His work is innovative and his care for his topic, not to mention his engagement with the ABC and other institutions, shines through his application. His work aligns well with the research interests of Anne Dunn”. JERAA president Matthew Ricketson said: "The judges for the Anne Dunn scholar award this year were pleased by the continuing development of the breadth and depth of the entries. This is not only a fitting tribute to the lasting influence of Anne Dunn but demonstrates advances made in scholarly work in the field of communication and journalism”.

Both presidents, who headed their associations’ judging panels, commended the work of Dr Harrington which they said was well theorised and, for his career point, showed an impressive track record. His research into alternative expressions of journalism is thought-provoking and his advocacy for it in popular as well as academic journals is to be welcomed.

The judges continue to encourage entries from members of both ANZCA and JERAA who have developed a strong body of research about communication and journalism. Please enter so your work can be celebrated and we can showcase it to the wider academic community.

Previous Anne Dunn Scholars:
Dr Emma Jane, 2016
Associate Professor Mia Lindgren, 2015
Dr Siobhan McHugh, 2014