Past recipients of the Christopher Newell Award

2009 Kate Holland (University of Canberra), 'Suicide and the Media: Identifying Some Blind Spots'
2010 Elspeth Tilley and Tyron Love (Massey University), 'Learning from Kaupapa Māori: Issues and Techniques for Engagement'
2011 Frank Sligo (Massey University), '“Although they are looking at the words, they are not actually reading”: Apprentices’ liminal literacy and literacy tutors' dilemmas'
2012 Holly Reid and Kerry McCallum,  default '“Weighing in”: The Australian’s reporting of child abuse in Northern Territory Indigenous Communities' (234.71 kB)
2013 Not awarded
2014 Katie Ellis, "Disability in the Buffyverse: Fanfic, cliff notes and the digital novelisation of television"
2015 Elizabeth Gray, Kane Hopkins and Christine Kirkwood, "Readable, audible, navigable: accessible communication for the non-profit health sector". Published in Communication Research and Practice,
2016 Ramaswami Harindranath, "Multiculturalism, interculturalism and communicating: negotiating diversity and complexity."
2017 Tanja Dreher and Cate Thill, "Disability, listening and media justice" (The authors donated their prize to the First People's Disabilty Network.)
2018 Not awarded
2019 Not awarded